Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New to calving! Advice please!  (Read 3952 times)

Faye.Lear

• Joined Mar 2016
New to calving! Advice please!
« on: May 25, 2017, 09:13:51 am »
My Red Ruby Devon Heifer's are in calf and due to calve Mid July.
I'm new to keeping cattle and would appreciate some advice on:
Feeding, and what equipment to have on hand and what to be on the look out for.
I'm hoping it will be ok for them to calve outside as they have been turned out for the summer.
They are primarily grass fed, and have been indoors on hay and with a mineral bucket through the winter until the end of April when I turned the out.

Any advice much appreciated!

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
Re: New to calving! Advice please!
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2017, 12:46:30 pm »
Essentials for calving- vets phone number, colostrum, stomach tube & bag, somewhere to pen them up if problems arise- heifers can sometimes need a bit of time in a pen alone to mother up, likewise if you need the vet it's good to bring in if you can. Calving ropes/jack always useful to have as is lube. 

We give every calf Calf Start Rotapaste which is optional but find our calves get up quicker having had a tube. We also have a Moocall calving detector which is fantastic but probably not worth having on a small herd.

Aside from that it's best to leave alone and only really step in if there's problems. They will slacken off behind and draw up in the week(s) leading up to calving and their pins will drop 24hrs before calving but heifers can sometimes drop a calf without drawing up much. Good luck :) :D

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 12:53:46 pm »