Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Planning software advice  (Read 2641 times)

TJHutchison

• Joined May 2017
Planning software advice
« on: May 29, 2017, 07:19:30 pm »
Hello all,

Can anyone point me in the right direction of some free or near free software that I can use to make a plan of my smallholding?  I'm currently upgrading all path and fencelines and adding in a few more outhouses and it will be easier if I can give a hard copy of plans to potential contractors instead of waving around blindly and saying 'about there'.  Also it'll help me to focus on not changing plans mid-stride! 

Thanks in advance.

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
Re: Planning software advice
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 09:08:55 pm »
This sort of thing often comes down to how familiar you are with a bit of software or the learning curve can be greater than the job's worth.
I'm no expert but reasonably familiar with turbocad.. and one can get an older basic version for under £8. I used it recently to redesign the inside of a house and new extensions. For something like your small holding you could use that style of program and grab a frame of google maps aerial view of your holding and stick it on a separate layer then trace over it and add your new features. Albeit that non-linear features are always a pain to trace over. Heavier duty software like photoshop can autotrace but you pay for that kind of function.
Often for a one-off job it's quicker to just get the tracing paper out

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 01:08:07 pm »
I did all mine the old fashioned way with graph paper and pencil.

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2017, 02:50:04 pm »
I did all mine the old fashioned way with graph paper and pencil.

And in case anyone doesn't know- you can download and print graph paper (free) if you haven't got any.

TJHutchison

• Joined May 2017
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2017, 05:41:21 pm »
Hello all,