Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sick goat  (Read 2816 times)

nessyt

• Joined Sep 2016
Sick goat
« on: May 14, 2017, 08:17:01 pm »
I've only had my GG & BG goatling for 2 weeks & im new to goats. They have settled in very well however 24 hours ago one of them developed diarrhoea and then this morning started being sick. I took her to the vet, temperature was normal. He did try to stomach tube her some rumen stimulant but struggled to get the liquid down as the tube was filled with a hay type mixture. He's given her a few injections & told me to keep a eye on her. The only thing I think she may of eaten is mixed corn that I feed my chickens. I'm so worried as she seems so ill. Has anyone else experienced anything like this?

Talana

• Joined Mar 2014
Re: Sick goat
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 09:23:25 pm »
Chicken feed is very bad for goats. Does sound like form of poisoning.  You need "childlocks" on everything with goats! Check grazing area if any poisonous plants as well just in case it wasn't chicken feed. Support her with a coat or lots of straw to keep her warm as when rumen not 100% they get cold quickly. Warm water to drink and hay, don't give any concentrates, she won't want them anyway just now.  Any deterioration contact your vet again. Hope she recovers soon. Yogurt drench or pro rumen(from vet) can help get her rumen going again.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 11:24:54 pm »
Hope she's ok. If she is lying down,  make her get up and walk round occasionally. Goats are very good at staying down when they aren't well and it's important that she doesn't stay down too long. Well done for getting her to the vet so promptly.

Dogwalker

• Joined Nov 2011
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2017, 06:21:15 am »
How is she this morning.
It does sound like she's eaten something poisonous, hopefully it'll work through her system and she's stating to feel better.