Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Trying to do too much?  (Read 2828 times)

NethertonSH

• Joined May 2015
    • Netherton Smallholding
Trying to do too much?
« on: May 10, 2017, 11:39:58 am »
Do you ever think you're trying to do too much?

I think my wife and I are at risk of burn out trying to keep on top of everything, we're working till midnight every night and spending little time with each other unless its working the veg patch. I work full time as an RA at a uni, we have two daughters aged 2 and 1, we have about 50 odd sheep, two sows, poultry, try to grow as much fruit and veg as we can, keep about 20 acres of fields in decent condition to make and sell hay, run a couple small holiday cottages and then we have our own "hobbies" on top of that.

I think we need to simplify. Question is what must go? Initial thoughts are the sheep, at least a chunk of them anyway then just make enough hay for ourselves. 

Has anyone else been in a similar position?

Terry T

• Joined Sep 2014
  • Norfolk
Re: Trying to do too much?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2017, 11:54:37 am »
It does sound like you p'raps haven't quite got the right balance. And it's so easy to do as we tend to enjoy the variaty of what we do. I've just taken in a job half time while trying to double up on my veg box business. We also want to get a few sheep and breed our own poultry but my husband is v keen not to over do it and helps keep my ambitions in check.
You've got to look after yourself foremost ot it will collapse around your ears.
My suggestion would be to consider how to add efficiency to each process. Cut out the stuff that's not fun. Consider hiring a bit of help if you can afford to. And bear in mind the kids will get older and hopefully less work so you can build back up in a few years - even getting them to help you.
Don't risk a burn out because it will be hard to recover from.
Good luck!

mojocafa

• Joined Sep 2012
  • Angus
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 02:20:32 pm »