Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Moving goats  (Read 2936 times)

Looneytoons

• Joined Nov 2022
Moving goats
« on: November 08, 2022, 03:05:51 pm »
Hi all.  I'm a newbie, so firstly, hello!

This is a two part question, both of which have contributed to a headache:

My goats are pets.  When goatkeeping was part of my job, I had a licence to transport them up to eight hours, but I've just discovered that it's lapsed.  Having read the information in the website (my headache started with the gov website), I seem to think that I can move the goats myself - whatever the distance - because they are pets, and there are no financial rewards resulting from the journey. Has my brain understood that correctly?

That said, the journey is going to be a long one, and I'm not really happy about tackling it myself.  Can anyone recommend a haulier that would move six goats from North East Lincolnshire to Aberdeenshire? if possible, one that would move the equipment too (shelters, hay racks, hay and straw etc).

TIA

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: Moving goats
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2022, 08:59:49 pm »
Answer to your first part of the question - yes, you can move them as long as tehy are not part of a business.

2nd part - if you have a livestock trailer or a van, then moving them yourself will be the most cost-effective option, plus you know they are looked after properly. As to moving their shelters? Would it not be more cost-effective to dismantle the shelters, sell and then buy new/build new ones? Even if you can dismantle into sections, you will probably need a flatbed lorry to transport... depends a bit on your licence/age/time available.... with diesel being back up at 1.90 this could be a VERY expensive goat move... and moving hay and straw?

Are you moving house or are the animals going to a new home?

Looneytoons

• Joined Nov 2022
Re: Moving goats
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2022, 03:37:52 pm »