Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Old oats  (Read 2618 times)

kernow64

• Joined Dec 2016
  • Brecknockshire
Old oats
« on: February 21, 2017, 12:07:16 pm »
Hi all,

I've recently taken on a smallholding in mid-Wales. No livestock yet, it's very early days but am still sifting through  treasure trove of "stuff" we have "inherited" from the previous owners (and their predecessors) - thank you to those on the sheep forum who replied to my enquiry about ancient hay.

Various delays have meant that our ambitions with regard to livestock will be modest this year but I am keen to get started with poultry.

Further exploration of the recesses of our cluttered barns has uncovered steel drums containing home made vacuum packed (some more "vacuum" than others) packs of oats and "bean mix" in sizes ranging from 600g to 20kg.

No obvious signs of mould or mildew in the ones I've checked but advice on what to do with it (polite ones please - I'm a newbie to all this!) would be welcome.

Are there any risks in feeding old beans, oats or other feed which may not have been stored in ideal conditions to poultry (poisonous moulds/fungus etc) to poultry? Are they smart enough to avoid anything that could be harmful or do I have to check it first and what to look for.

As I said above, I am a newbie to most of this and while lots of free feed is nice, I don't want to start off using stuff that could cause problems.

Many thanks,

Jerry

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
Re: Old oats
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 12:47:12 pm »
Don't risk it Kernow64. There are things called Mycotoxins formed in old grain which cause collapse of the immune system, even in very tiny amounts.

Alex_

• Joined Jul 2016
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 01:18:05 pm »
I agree with chrismahon. I wouldn't feed it just in case. also you don't know how long it has been stored for so the nutritional composition could be on the low side (good nutrition= Good eggs/meat)