Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Help me with sensible composting system!  (Read 4262 times)

wannabesmallholder

• Joined Jan 2017
Help me with sensible composting system!
« on: February 07, 2017, 02:19:47 pm »
Hi
I'm quite new to all things growing and gardening etc, so looking for some advice on the most sensible way to use my compost area.

I have 5 largish bays. 2 at the moment are in use (1 full and covered with a tarpaulin - doing its thing and 1 being filled). Once the gardening gets going again properly I would anticipate using 3 of these for garden and kitchen waste. I try to turn them and rotate them when I have time, though am not very systematic about.

The 5th bay at the moment has a large pile of this autumn's leaves in it.

So currently bays 3&4 are empty. In front of these two I have a pile of turf, which I'm leaving there in the hope it eventually will become a nice topsoil.

There had previously been horses on our land and there were various piles of well rotted manure piled up around, which I have used for the past 3 years in the garden and veg patch and have used the last of this to mulch 30 newly planted fruit trees this winter. This morning I just spoke to a horsey lady down the road, who is going to start bringing me bags of her manure (mixed with straw) to start creating a rotting pile in one of the bays. I should have had some foresight and asked her to start doing this last year, so I guess I will have to do without manure or buy some in for next year.

So basically, my plan was. Bays 1-3 for garden and kitchen waste, trying to turn them when I get round to it. How often *should* I be turning it ideally? And how long would it take to be in a useable state for compost? Last year I added a lot of sticks and brambles and stuff, which I've now realised don't compost down quickly - won't be doing that again! Can I still just use it as compost with the sticks in it?