Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New to Aberdeenshire/Scotland/Smallholding!  (Read 2446 times)

NewLifeOnTheFarm

• Joined Jun 2016
New to Aberdeenshire/Scotland/Smallholding!
« on: August 29, 2016, 09:31:57 am »
Big hello from Kennethmont! I recently moved up to Scotland from Cambridge with my husband and baby in tow. We are originally from Yorkshire, moved down to Cambridge for my husbands work, he was a physicist and I was an intensive care nurse. We have always talked about owing land and trying to be as self sufficient, and a couple of years ago we started to plan for our escape from the rat race. We have some family up here so have always loved the area. We found a perfect farm house with 17.5 acres, excellent buildings, and moved in June. We have 3 ponies grazing at present, 27 chickens I hatched in the incubator, and 4 saxony ducks.

Our first big adventure will be sheep and I've been on the sheep board for advice already!

Eventually we will be growing veg too, but we are on a fairly tight budget at moment so that's a plan for a few years time.

Looking forward to sharing our adventures with you all and thank you for the amazing advice on here.

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: New to Aberdeenshire/Scotland/Smallholding!
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2016, 09:56:07 am »
Hello and welcome to the forum from Carmarthenshire
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2016, 11:31:27 am »
Hello and welcome from Carnoustie  :wave:

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2016, 11:33:26 am »
And from Devon!

Ina

• Joined Feb 2012
  • South Aberdeenshire
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2016, 05:39:23 pm »
Hello from the other end of Aberdeenshire!