Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: More Breeding Questions  (Read 3262 times)

Isla

• Joined Aug 2015
  • Aberdeenshire
    • Facebook
More Breeding Questions
« on: August 20, 2016, 12:24:54 am »
Hello.  I have two goatlings: one AN, one ANxBS. My main aim is to milk them for our own household.

Please do correct me if I get any terminology wrong here. I am a novice and here to learn.

If they both kid Spring '17, then I'll have to wait until Autumn '18 before I can put either the original two or their female progeny into kid. Correct?

So should I just get one of them in kid this year so that I can put the other one in kid next year and alternate them?

That would mean that one of them would be 3 years old before she kids. Is that too old?

Can anyone give me a link or name of a book that explains how many generations it takes to get back to a purebreed?

How much does size matter? My goats are quite large.

I think that ultimately the selection of a stud will be based on geography. The nearest AN billy is two hours away, I believe.

I did consider trying to find a boer billy, but it looks as if it's difficult to arrange slaughter in my area. So any male kids will be castrated and kept as pets rather than raising them for meat.

Eventually I'd like to have a billy myself.

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
Re: More Breeding Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 06:48:38 am »
You do not have to run them through for two years, one could be served again to kid after a year.  The main drawback of this is it can reduce the ability to run through in later years.  However if she is from a good milking line she will not be effected too much.