Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Drainage  (Read 3975 times)

Millwoodequestrian

• Joined Jul 2016
Drainage
« on: July 29, 2016, 06:32:05 am »
Hi, I am new to the group, I was wondering if anyone with experience could point me in the direction of company or individual who could advise on field drainage. We have 18 acres of a small Equestrian farm but the land is quite boggy, also the neighbours land seems to drain naturally into ours. I suppose I am looking for a expert who could asses the land for me (including the issue with the neighbours land as well) and give me advice on which field can be drained and which are not viable.

Many thanks Gordon of Cleish

Sra

• Joined Jun 2016
Re: Drainage
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2016, 10:02:27 pm »
Firstly I'm no expert!

Experts cost money and are probably going to recommend costly work if they are the contractor also.

I would start simple - look at what drainage already exists - it probably needs clearing/digging out. Do that and wait a few months then reevaluate the land.

Next add in any 'easy win' field drains/ditches that will drain the worst areas into your existing drainage. Look for natural springs or issues that might be easy to divert. Go out when the weather is really bad and has been for a while and look at how and where water is flowing. Look at land either side of yours does that give you any ideas?

Possibly chat with the neighbor and see if clearing drains on his land might reduce run off to yours.

So far you have only spent a little on hiring a mini digger and have probably done some long overdue maintenance which needed doing anyway.

If it is still bad in areas think about the land use - How much do you need as pasture? Can you plant trees (for example Willow which is dead easy to do) to reduce the water table in the spring/summer in adjacent land bringing it into viable summer use - thus resting your winter pasture on the drier bits?