Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Mangalitza cross Duroc - Question  (Read 3248 times)

zackyb

• Joined Oct 2010
Mangalitza cross Duroc - Question
« on: March 14, 2016, 02:52:24 pm »
I am sending my boar to the abbatoir ready for my next batch of sausages. I've sent boars and gilts/sows before but not a Duroc cross. A neighbour has  said he thinks I am mad as the sausages will be tainted as its not a native breed or native breed cross.

Does anyone have any thoughts / information / experience on the Duroc breed please? I am new to it and bought him as a tiny weaner to try the meat and temperatment etc as an experiment. He did grow huge and is a lovely big lovely looking friendly pig - but in terms of anything else... the so called boar taint etc.. he seems no different to my other pigs - healthy, happy and smells just lovely of an outdoor pig (celery, earth, mud, grass etc  :) [size=78%] [/size]
[/size]
[/size][size=78%]Thanks in advance for your feedback and help.[/size]

waterbuffalofarmer

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Mid Wales
  • Owner of 61 Mediterranean water buffaloes
Re: Mangalitza cross Duroc - Question
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 03:05:51 pm »
the most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, loving concern.

hughesy

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Anglesey
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2016, 03:23:56 pm »
It's quite possible that your neighbour is a nutcase.

waterbuffalofarmer

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Mid Wales
  • Owner of 61 Mediterranean water buffaloes
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2016, 04:46:32 pm »