Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Badgers  (Read 5695 times)

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Badgers
« on: November 20, 2015, 03:18:21 pm »
This is NOT intended to be controversial. We don't have badgers here, in fact, I think the population of badgers in Scotland is relatively modest - so I have no personal experience of badgers. In fact, I don't think I've ever seen a badger in real life, alive or dead.

So this is just a random question - why are badgers a protected species?

Me

• Joined Feb 2014
  • Wild West
Re: Badgers
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 04:09:30 pm »
Knee jerk response to persecution, badger baiting etc  when the numbers were very low. There are so many here there are new tracks through hedges and holes in pig wire appearing daily in some of my fields. They seem to prefer to smash a new hole than go two feet to the left and use the one they smashed last night. Considering electric only as it seems pointless using wire.

ramon

• Joined Feb 2014
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 04:31:55 pm »
Badgers are common in this part of Scotland. 3 active sets within a mile of my home.
They do dig under my fences and I have just about given up blocking the holes up as they just dig them out again. Am also considering electric fencing but that would be an expensive solution.
I think they are protected as their numbers were once low but numbers are not low here.
They do not seem to be a problem, although a few get killed on the road each year, and am not aware of them taking lambs, although foxes would be blamed for this anyway.

Porterlauren

• Joined Apr 2014
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 04:36:17 pm »
As Me said, a daft knee jerk reaction. And once protected its almost impossible to remove that status.

They are a real pest and numbers are huge. They do a hell of a lot of environmental damage and defiantly kill lambs!

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire