Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 4104 times)

Border Lady

• Joined Sep 2015
Advice please
« on: November 03, 2015, 09:01:42 pm »
Hi There,
What a great forum, :thumbsup: I've been following this site for several months.
I'm after a bit of advice. We have two Shetland cows, they arrived about a month ago and seem to have settled in well.. One(Flora)is about  2 years old with a castrated calf at foot,( he will be going in the freezer) and the other (Flossie) is about 18 months old. I would very much like to halter train them but at a slight loss where to start. They are not kept in doors at the moment  but they do have access to our barn. I feed them a few cattle nuts each day and they sniff my hand but shy away from any more contact. Is it possible to halter train older cows? Help please!

Penninehillbilly

• Joined Sep 2011
  • West Yorks
Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 09:12:55 pm »
I keep goats so I'm not an expert on cows but i'd say patience, quite a scary thing being taken from everything you know and finding strange people, sounds, sights. My goats took a while to settle with me.
I wonder if keeping them in for an hour a day while you talk to them, while doing jobs round the barn? would help them get used to you?

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2015, 09:37:39 pm »
I haven't done it - I do our heifers in their first winter when they are 6-10 months old = but I would guess with many Shetlands, it's perfectly possible.