Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: christmas meat boxes  (Read 2617 times)

kev meaney

• Joined Sep 2015
christmas meat boxes
« on: September 22, 2015, 09:56:38 pm »
Hi

I've been working in agriculture since I left school 14 years ago. This year I took on a smallholding and 17 pigs, while I have no worries about the stockmanship side of it I would like to have the pigs butchered and sell the pork in meat packs leading up to Christmas, but I'm not sure the best way to go about it. Also how to price the product and the logistics behind it all.

Any advice would be very much appreciated, thanks

heyhay1984

• Joined Jun 2014
Re: christmas meat boxes
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2015, 09:03:47 pm »
Depends if you want to sell direct or not, 17 pigs us going to need a hell of a lot of customers to be found from scratch in time for Christmas (though I'm guessing you'll want to retain some pigs?). Have a search of the forum for threads about selling direct as there is a certain amount of red tape, especially once you get past selling to 'friends and family' stage.

How old are the pigs you have in mind and what breed? That'll have a bearing on if they will be ready to slaughter at the right time, also have in mind that some places won't do private kills in the run up to Christmas (though ours is a small operation that also does our cutting and I think this is more the reason they want to keep it to just their own work in December, it's completely understandable!).

For Christmas boxes you will almost certainly want sausages, ham and bacon so will need to make sure you have time to produce this as curing takes more time than picking the meat up jointed. We pay a flat fee of £60 kill and cut  per pig which includes a couple of bags of sausages from the trimmings, any curing or vast amount of sausages costs more on top.