Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Yolk sac and ducklings  (Read 8623 times)

Angry grapefruit

• Joined Feb 2015
Yolk sac and ducklings
« on: June 27, 2015, 08:06:25 pm »
Hi,

So I've hatched many a chick however this is my first time hatching ducklings. My ducklings are pipping, but are weak, when they do hatch, they're bloody and have large prominent yolk sacs. My question is... why? Too hot, too humid? Because they're hatching on day 27-27.5 if that makes sense, so a day or so early.

One has died and the other 3 don't look well  :'(

Any help appreciated

:)

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: Yolk sac and ducklings
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2015, 11:46:40 am »
Are the eggs from your own stock?  Could be infection due to bacteria in the incubator, especially if the eggs were originally dirty then cleaned off rather than being from clean nests, or low grade mycoplasma infection or a genetic problem.  Sometimes it's just a mystery you can't unravel.  If the yolk sac hasn't been completely reabsorbed they always die, in my experience.

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2015, 12:09:30 pm »
Too hot prompts early weak hatchlings AG- that would be my guess. What incubator have you got?

Penninehillbilly

• Joined Sep 2011
  • West Yorks
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2015, 12:51:43 pm »
Did they need helping out of shells?

Kimbo

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Anglezarke, Lancashire
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2015, 03:37:32 pm »
is there any news on the ducklings?
Is it time to retire yet?

Kimbo

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Anglezarke, Lancashire
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2015, 06:31:56 pm »
Im starting to get a bad feeling about this thread  :'(

Angry grapefruit

• Joined Feb 2015
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2015, 01:06:13 am »
Hi all

I did write out a long answer but accidentally pressed the back button!