Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: First novice hatch  (Read 10547 times)

Kimbo

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Anglezarke, Lancashire
First novice hatch
« on: April 29, 2015, 11:48:45 am »
Well this evening I put the new Octagon into operation with 6 Cream Legbar and 6 Wyandotte eggs. Its my first time and to say im nervous is an understatement  :-\

The eggs are a slightly different size but the incubator is big enough for me to keep them apart so I hope that wont be an issue.

My first question is about setting up the little metal dividers in the cabinet. Do I fit them to hold the eggs firmly or not? The instructions say that some small rolling between the dividers is OK but should I be trying to avoid that if I can?

The second question is going to sound really stupid; apologies. But how do they actually go in? Upright? lengthways? diagonally? Pointy end up or down? Does it matter? The eggs are resting pointy end down now but when they go into the cabinet that looks like it would be the most unstable position to choose.

Im sorry to be so dumb  :-[
Is it time to retire yet?

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
Re: First novice hatch
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2015, 12:00:49 pm »
We've all been there- there are no dumb questions (unless you've already asked them 20 times!). You put the eggs on their sides in an Octagon normally. So their length runs along the length of the incubator so when they turn (have you got a cradle or are you turning by hand?), they turn from one side to the other rather than from end to end. Some incubators you do put them pointy end down so the air sack is at the top but not in this case. See not a dumb question!