Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: how often should I rotate?  (Read 6027 times)

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
  • Proud owner of sheep and Llamas!
how often should I rotate?
« on: April 23, 2015, 11:21:23 am »
As the title says. How often should I rotate my ewes and lambs?  Is it within a worm cycle?

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: how often should I rotate?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2015, 11:58:07 am »
I'm no expert but it will probably be easier for those that are if you let them know approx how much land they are on and how many sheep you have.
I only have a couple of acres, split into 4. My 6 girls get rotated every week.
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2015, 12:06:27 pm »
6 (or more) paddocks, moved weekly.  I think it depends more on the height of the grass though, as the nasties live at the base of the leaves, so if you don't graze too hard that would be better.

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
  • Proud owner of sheep and Llamas!
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2015, 01:36:08 pm »
I've got low stocking density so I was thinking I might get away with two weeks apart. Hopefully

TheSmilingSheep

• Joined May 2013
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2015, 08:28:10 pm »
We have quite a low density, but generally keep them on a field for three weeks - grass is still not very very short when they move.  We let a field have a break for between 3 and 5 weeks before it's grazed on again...  Having said that, from September, when we wean and then after have the ram in, some sheep will be in the same field for much longer.  Still, not yet had to worm, after regular FEC tests...

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2015, 08:50:24 pm »