Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: agricultural land - can it be used for horticulture?  (Read 11117 times)

laurelrus

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Quainton,Buckinghamshire
  • Hobby farmer
agricultural land - can it be used for horticulture?
« on: April 15, 2015, 09:49:23 am »
I'm not sure where on the forum to ask this, I hope I'm not in the wrong section.

We'd like to use some of our land to grow flowers or herbs, possibly just half an acre to start and see how it goes. I just want to be sure that we won't be in trouble for doing that. Does horticulture count as an acceptable use of agricultural land? Could we put a polytunnel if we wanted to? Or would we need to approach the local planners?
Thanks very much
2 pygmy goats, 3 Ouessant sheep, 19 chickens, 2 donkeys, 2 Shetland ponies and 2 dogs

stufe35

• Joined Jan 2013
Re: agricultural land - can it be used for horticulture?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 07:03:26 pm »
I'm not an expert, but I believe agricultural land needs no change of use for horticultural use.

Poly tunnels are an odd one , it depends on their use....and I think also it may vary around the country.

One piece of advice I strongly urge you to take....do not speak to your local planners about what you want...they will tell you what suits them and what nets them the most money...you also warn them of what you really want.  I urge you to employ a planning consultant...these people are experts in what they do and will guide you through the correct route to achieve your ends.

Caroline1

• Joined Nov 2014
  • Cambridgeshire
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2015, 12:41:59 pm »
I was also wondered this a few months ago. I have taken the approach that we will do slow changes and see if anyone questions it.

We have just put up a greenhouse on ours.
________
Caroline

laurelrus

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Quainton,Buckinghamshire
  • Hobby farmer
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2015, 02:34:53 pm »
Thanks stufe35, will bear in mind what you say!