Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ducks or chickens?  (Read 5073 times)

Kitsuni88

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Molland,
Ducks or chickens?
« on: February 27, 2015, 10:22:12 am »
Ok im shiny newbie with wonderful ideas of what I can do with our land to make our lives oh so amazing lol. Well partly true, I am a newbie to the smallholding scene but I am not under any illusions that it will be all grandeur and perfect. I know things will be hard once started and things will need my absolute attention no matter the time or weather!

First animals that are going to grace our land wil be either chickens or ducks. I can't decide which.
Duck eggs are very rich, but how are they with general noise, upkeep, accessories, needs?
Chickens are they meant to be better layer? Noisier?

Pat some point I may have both but what do I need to take into consideration when deciding, they will be food too not pets, well ok we may keep a few layers that my stepson can call his own but the rest will be honouring us with thir presence on our kitchen table.

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: Ducks or chickens?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 10:38:00 am »
Most folks I know started out with chickens.  Get a good poultry book and read it from cover to cover.  If you choose an old-fashioned large, soft-feathered utility breed, which will produce a fair number of eggs but also make a good table bird, you probably won't regret it.  Find a friendly farmer or smallholder and go and look at their birds.  If they're healthy consider buying some POL's (Point of Lays) on the understanding you can get lots of advice if you need it.  I'd recommend a Dorking or any of the Sussex or Wyandotte colourways, but no doubt other people will have their own favourites.

Kimbo

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Anglezarke, Lancashire
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2015, 01:02:00 pm »
Im a new smallholder and started with 6 hybrid POL chickens so maybe as a novice my tips might help you  :)