Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Cockerel behaviour  (Read 4780 times)

princesslayer

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Tadley, Hants
Cockerel behaviour
« on: January 21, 2015, 07:29:28 am »
Hi folks,

We've recently 'rescued' a cockerel called Michael (long story) so I'm new to having a chap around with the ladies. No bother so far, he's quite gentlemanly, not aggressive or flighty and they all seem to get on fine. He's been covering them too, so all good there.

They are in a run about 25m square, there are four hens and Michael and they are let out to free range quite a bit. They put themselves to bed and are not shut away (enclosure shut, hut door stays open). It's a high enclosure with tucked under caging and I've never seen a fox, so lucky so far.  Thing is, Michael doesn't sleep with the girls in the hut, he likes it up the oak tree in the corner of the run. I'm worried he's going to get cold when it's -5 like it was the other night. Is it normal for him to sleep separately or is that he just doesn't want to squeeze into the hut with the others? He is a big Sussex and there is not a lot of room for him. He can go in an egloo which was in there to separate him when he arrived, but he's not keen.

I'm considering getting a bigger hut for them but don't want to splash the cash if he is going to be a lone sleeper anyway!

Anyone got an opinion?
Keeper of Jacob sheep, several hens, Michael the Cockerel and some small children.

Stereo

• Joined Aug 2012
Re: Cockerel behaviour
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 08:07:08 am »
Wet is more of a problem than cold, they can cope with fairly low temps aside from potential issues with frostbite on the comb so keep an eye on that. If you've provided housing and are confident there is enough room then it's really up to him. You could try putting him in after dark a few times to see if he takes to it.

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 09:23:15 am »