Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello Golden Guernsey Keeper  (Read 5343 times)

milly

• Joined Dec 2014
Hello Golden Guernsey Keeper
« on: December 27, 2014, 02:06:46 pm »
Hello All,
I am pleased to have joined this small holders Forum,  and to be able to speak with fellow goat keepers I have 2 Golden Guernsey females, one who is in milk still from kidding during the summer, also 1 teenager Golden x Sannan, plus 6 laying hens.
I have been keeping Goats for 25 years, and have never come across this before and hoping someone out their may just have the answer.

6 weeks ago my dairy girl was soaking wet one morning I guess she had been licking,,  she has always been a bit scurfy,  but none  have ever had  mites or any other critter,   done all the normal procedure,  oromec  with follow up dose, iodine, copper levels  normal ,bathed her tea tree shampoo / animal medicated shampoo, then a good blow dried all was well for a few days,
then same problem again she is groomed along with the others everyday.
So again gave her a good scrub and hair dry she really enjoys it, put a small fleece coat on for the night, this morning all warm dry underneath the coat, but she is still licking the coat in places.
She has a good diet plenty of black sunflower seeds every day mineral blocks .free choice loose mineral ,
I cant think what else I can do, so any help please would be great.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Hello Golden Guernsey Keeper
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2014, 06:47:49 pm »
 :wave: Hi, Milly, and welcome to TAS. I keep Saanens. I've never come across anything like you describe so can't help but I'm sure someone will be along soon who will know the answer.

Whereabouts are you?

clydesdaleclopper

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2014, 07:25:27 pm »