Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Can one Goose be kept with Muscovies? and how noisy would one be?  (Read 2906 times)

leanne1988

• Joined Dec 2014
Hello All

I am planning on getting Muscovy ducks as pets and for eggs. I would love a Goose egg every now and then but can I keep one with a few Muscovies? Would that be cruel or would they get on?

Also. I have a couple of close neighbors, I know you can get more docile breeds like the Buff but how docile and how loud can they actually be?

CharingPorkPantry

• Joined Nov 2014
Re: Can one Goose be kept with Muscovies? and how noisy would one be?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2014, 08:19:46 am »
Hello,

I am by no means a goose expert, as we inherited ours but here is what I've noticed about them:

A) They don't seem to be interested in the ducks at all. They are completely separate. Perhaps this is because they have each other or perhaps they are just antisocial but they don't seem to have any bond with the ducks. If I lost one I would probably have to get another goose I think for company.

B) Mine, which are giant dewlap toulouse geese, are very friendly and sedate. Incredibly slow moving! They do not make constant noise but if they have been disturbed on the pond or have wandered away from each other they can make an incredible racket! I live on a farm so no big deal but I wouldn't have mine near any neighbours.

I'm sure someone will have some better advice but that's what I have observed in mine :-)

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2014, 08:23:48 am »
I'm no expert either but we inherited ours and the ducks when we bought the place. As the previous post said the geese and ducks had little to do with each other. The geese did make an awful racket and when the fox got one the remaining one was even worse because she pined so much. To be honest I was greateful when the fox GOS the second one too.