Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: About to start keeping Chooks. Which Coop?  (Read 6762 times)

congo181

• Joined Oct 2014
  • Near Maidstone, Kent
About to start keeping Chooks. Which Coop?
« on: October 23, 2014, 08:29:58 pm »
Hi all.
Newbie here, but I've been watching and reading ever since we started keeping sheep and have learnt a lot.
Now we are going to get some chickens, and I am having trouble deciding on a coop.

Has anyone any experience with the ones from Buttercup Farm?  They look pretty good and are apparently made in the UK.

Thanks,
Jim in Kent

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: About to start keeping Chooks. Which Coop?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 11:50:11 pm »
Buy a cheap garden shed, line it with marine ply and stuff polystyrene in between(the chips are good but sheets work too), spray with creosote or similar before you put chooks in.  I use plastic sheets on the floor with shredded paper or chopped straw spread over it; pull out regularly, put the muck in the compost bin, put fresh sheet and bedding down, hose down previous sheet, leave to dry off; do it on a fresh dry day and keep chooks out between lifting and relaying to give floor a chance to breathe and aerate.  And an old drawer with bedding for a  nest box.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2014, 06:27:43 am »