Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Bottle fed lamb won't join other animals  (Read 4419 times)

heidibacardi

• Joined Oct 2014
  • Perth, Western Australia
Bottle fed lamb won't join other animals
« on: October 16, 2014, 07:31:07 am »
Hello, I'm a newbie here, and also to the world of keeping sheep, so would be very grateful for some help with an bottle fed lamb.  Brief background -  we have a 2.5 acre paddock behind our house with plenty of good grass and some mature trees.  2 years ago we acquired 4 young alpaca wethers for their fleece, then 2 months ago we bought 2 x 3month old dorper ewes for breeding.  We weren't sure how the alpacas would feel about having their nice herd encroached on so we chose the bolshiest ewes from the breeder, put them straight in with the alpacas and they've got on fine.

5 weeks ago our neigbour's sheep gave birth to triplets right by our fence.  Two of them were up and off, the third lamb couldn't stand and got left in the ditch covered in flies.  You've guessed it, with the neighbour's blessing I acquired a lamb.  She didn't get much colostrum, weighed about 2kg and couldn't stand for the first three days.  I expected her to die but she took the bottle ok (I'm so much of an amateur I didn't even realise sheep need different teats - she's had a normal baby's teat the whole way through) and the last 5 weeks has been like having a newborn baby in the house.  It was the end of winter and quite cold (I'm in Perth, no, the other one - Western Australia) so I put her in a nappy and a babygro to keep warm and the long and the short is that although she's still only just on 7kg she's eating hay and a few pellets and doing well.  She sits under my desk by day and sleeps by the bed at night.