Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Shelter for sheep?  (Read 10569 times)

Oopsiboughtasheep

• Joined Aug 2014
  • Hampshire
Shelter for sheep?
« on: October 03, 2014, 11:22:54 am »
I am very new to sheep ownership (3 weeks and loving it) and have been fortunate to have started off in good weather to spend time observing them, their behaviours (very funny on the whole!) and to notice where they rest (different during the day and at night which is interesting). I am just a bit concerned about what, if anything, I should provide in the way of shelter as the weather is going to turn this weekend. I know that sheep live out in the hills etc. but although my 2 texel x Ryelands are now about 8 months old and large and woolly, the 2 Zwartbles are much smaller and not as woolly (one was a triplet so even smaller than the other one). They were late lambs, born end June) and only weened 3 weeks ago. They all seem bright and happy and have plenty of grass but do my little ones in particular need to be able to get out of the rain? I can hear the experienced ones amongst you laughing already and can take all comments on the chin in good heart....I just want to check that I'm doing the right thing that's all and would value your advice.
Many thanks.
Anything that costs you your peace is too expensive

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Shelter for sheep?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 11:56:08 am »