Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Financials of Sheep (buying / raising / slaughter(  (Read 3981 times)

shaneharpe16

• Joined Aug 2014
Financials of Sheep (buying / raising / slaughter(
« on: August 28, 2014, 03:12:43 pm »
Hello,

I am trying to understand the costs associated with keeping a few sheep.  Current thoughts are to have 3 ewes and breed from them each year for lamb in the freezer.  I am desperately struggling to understand the likely costs I will have.

I guess I'm trying to make sure it wouldn't cost anymore then buying lamb from the market, if its less then bonus but taking away potential vets bills which i guess you have to plan for but hope you never need, how much does it normally cost for feed, butcher, etc to get a lamb ready.

I found a wonderful article on pigs costs on this site which really broke it down for me, im wondering if theres anything like that for raising sheep

I am very new to the small holding concepts and at this stage I am simply in the early early planning stages so please be gentle with me  :hug:

TheSmilingSheep

• Joined May 2013
Re: Financials of Sheep (buying / raising / slaughter(
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2014, 08:49:58 pm »
Hi there,
I'm replying prematurely, since we're about to take our first sheep to 'the seaside' on Monday and wont know the associated slaughter/butchery costs until afterwards (too hopeless to ask, but less than two pigs - £155 for us - I suspect...)
But, since I know the delight of feeling someone's out there I thought I'd reply anyway!!!!