Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New wheel choice.  (Read 3604 times)

Louise Gaunt

• Joined May 2011
New wheel choice.
« on: August 22, 2014, 07:05:45 pm »
I know everyone has their own view on spinning wheels, but we have just sold our daughters student house, and OH has suggested I might like some of the proceeds for a new spinning wheel! I currently have a 1981 ish Ashford Traditional I bought about two years ago. I like spinning on it, and as a self taught spinner, I have got to grips with scotch tension, and produce yarns I am happy with. I would like to move on a bit, and am favouring a Joy2, although I haven't tried one out yet. Any suggestions, advice etc would be gratefully received!

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: New wheel choice.
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 10:05:40 pm »
I have a Lendrum  :spin: and love it to bits, although at some point I would love to trade up to a Schacht.... in my dreams.

I personally like the modern looking wheels, just fits better into our house (newly built 7 years ago), but also the Lendrum spins fantastic. It takes forever to arrive in this country, made in Canada. You have to google the name of the UK agent, it's name escapes me at the moment.

My OH has just read through the message from standing behind me (I HATE THAT) and asked why would I ((or anybody else) need a 2nd wheel - I can only ever spin on one at a time... MEN just don't understand!

Louise Gaunt

• Joined May 2011
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 10:35:34 pm »
Spinning wheels are like bicycles, you always need one more than you have!

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2014, 11:06:40 pm »
I also have a Lendrum, which I love. It spins beautifully, is incredibly versatile as you can buy a fast and a super-fast flyer for it. It's also easy to take to Guild meetings, as it folds into a bag. Not as small as the Joy2 but easier to use as your main wheel.