Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: which goat  (Read 3447 times)

harry

• Joined Mar 2009
which goat
« on: July 06, 2014, 07:55:57 pm »
ime thinking about getting a couple of goats...... i have a 1 acre plot but its slowly getting more nettles docks etc etc than grass..... i know goats will eat the rough stuff but dont want them eating all the bark off my many trees and laurels.... good secure site with electric fences and more,,, what type would be a good type... ime thinking maybe 2 males.... keep for a couple of years then end up as meat. am i in cloud cuckoo land or what. i tried pigs but ive been eating them for 2 years now and still got some ,,,getting fed up with sausages

mojocafa

• Joined Sep 2012
  • Angus
Re: which goat
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2014, 09:29:59 pm »
Laurel is highly toxic to goats :o
pygmy goats, gsd, border collie, scots dumpys, cochins, araucanas, shetland ducks and geese,  marrans, and pea fowl in a pear tree.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 12:03:14 am »
I nearly lost a goat after she ate just a small amount of laurel. If the trees and laurels are in the field you would need to fence each one because goats will strip all the bark off. I had a magnolia tree which was soon dead after my goats got at it, even though I thought it was well enough fenced. A two year old goat would be very tough but lovely if you slow cook it.

ScotsGirl

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Wiltshire
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 10:22:24 pm »
If a goat died by eating toxic plants would the meat still be viable??

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2014, 12:18:54 pm »
I would not trust the meat if the animal had died from poisoning. 

If fencing off areas go double the distance that you think that is needed as goat necks can stretch to amazing lengths for tasty morsels.

If you are getting males make sure that they are castrated young as the meat tastes just like the male goat smells.