Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: ewe's sharing lambs?  (Read 3240 times)

simon sheffield

• Joined Apr 2014
ewe's sharing lambs?
« on: April 16, 2014, 03:17:26 pm »
Hi, i am new to this so i don't know the protocol. I am sorry if i get it wrong.
I have two jacobs which are in lamb,mother and daughter. It is the younger one's first lamb. When we woke up this morning there were two newly born lambs,i am sure that they are from the daughter as she had lost the size and had a bit of a bloody behind.
BUT they were sharing the lambs one each and both feeding. Has anybody heard of this before without human intervention and what will the consequence be for the mothers own lambs when they are born. Thank you for any advice.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: ewe's sharing lambs?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 03:46:29 pm »
Unfortunately it is quite common for there to be a mixup if two ewes lamb together, or if a ewe who is close to lambing is nearby when another ewe actually lambs.

At the point of lambing, and shortly before and after, the ewe is awash with hormones which make her extra motherly.  These wear off after a day or so, and she will then quite possibly reject any lamb which she had been claiming but which is not, in fact her own.  Its own mother will by then almost certainly reject it too, as she didn't bond with it when it was born and it now smells of another ewe.

So ideally, the shepherd sorts out the lambs and ewes very very soon after birth, and if necessary pens the mother and her lambs together, away from any other interfering ewe, while the maternal bonds are reinforced.