Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Yoghurt Maker - progress and problems.  (Read 4447 times)

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Yoghurt Maker - progress and problems.
« on: March 22, 2014, 08:34:23 am »

I used to make yoghurt when I was a student, and wanted to get into it again, so I found this yoghurt maker on Amazon:

The 'progress' is that it exactly takes a 1-litre milk carton, so I've been able to make yoghurt very quickly by microwaving a full 1 litre milk carton to get it up to temperature, pouring a bit out and replacing it with yoghurt starter, then giving it a gentle shake to mix and sticking it in the machine.

This is SOOO much easier than other methods I know, with no messing about washing and sterilising.

However, the problems:  I can't get the yoghurt to go thick. The thickest I've managed so far was made with evaporated milk diluted same-again with water. When I make it with whole milk though, it's quite a bit runnier than shop bought yoghurt, though still very tasty.

Also if I try to re-use some of the previous batch for my next batch, it always comes out much runnier again (the idea was to eat nearly all of the yoghurt, then top it up with milk, give it a shake and put it back in for the next batch!).

Any ideas folks? The 1-litre carton thing is such a time saver, I'm really keen to see if I can get this to work  :thumbsup: .
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

Greenerlife

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Leafy Surrey
Re: Yoghurt Maker - progress and problems.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2014, 02:13:25 pm »
What yogurt are yo using as a starter?  I always  try to use a really thick Greek type to start, because I have the same problem.  I always use full fat milk though

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2014, 02:17:38 pm »

I'm just using Yeo Valley plain yoghurt with live cutures and full fat milk.  I'll try greek and let you know how I get on - thanks!