Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Spinning alpaca  (Read 2368 times)

Louise Gaunt

• Joined May 2011
Spinning alpaca
« on: February 18, 2014, 05:36:38 pm »
I am relatively new to spinning. When I bought my wheel second hand it came with some combed alpaca tops. I have tried spinning them but I am not getting a very good yarn, it doesn't have any strength and keeps breaking. Am I just not putting enough twist in, although when I take yarn off the spool it twists back on itself quite a lot. Any suggestions gratefully accepted!

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: Spinning alpaca
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 05:45:24 pm »
Louise, I don't have a suggestion for you but have found myself that alpaca isn't that easy. It is more slippery than fleece. I don't think it has the barbs that hold sheeps yarn together.

Having said that one of the ladies that used to spin at our group always spun alpaca and she didn't seem to have a problem so perhaps it's just a case of practising.
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

Louise Gaunt

• Joined May 2011
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2014, 06:13:21 pm »
Thanks, it is much more slippery than wool, although I have managed to spin some very dusty alpaca fleece I bought from a local alpaca keeper. I think the dirt makes it less slippery but very dusty to spin!

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2014, 11:13:21 pm »
I think you would be better to get some sheep's fleece to start with and save the alpaca until you have more experience.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2014, 06:55:44 am »