Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Home killing/butchering  (Read 19338 times)

Clansman

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Ayrshire
Home killing/butchering
« on: January 06, 2014, 03:11:28 pm »
I have no knowledge of pigs whatsoever but i'm slowly learning with the intention of keeping a small number of them in the future so excuse the pig ignorance  ;D

I'm happy with everything i've learned so far but the killing/butchery side of things looks to be a major expense and to be honest its something I would be quite happy to undertake myself.

Now I'm not up on the laws and regulations covering pigs but is there anything that would legally prevent me killing and butchering my own pigs at home for home consumption only??

I've butchered the odd sheep, quite a few deer etc so I have no problem there and although I appreciate pigs are different, I can learn as I go.

Can it legally be done?

spandit

• Joined Mar 2013
  • East Sussex
    • Sussex Forest Garden
Re: Home killing/butchering
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2014, 03:20:45 pm »
Been looking through the firearms guidance and it states you need a licence (which is free, apparently)

13.41 The slaughter of animals for human consumption will often be carried out using captive- bolt instruments that are not considered “firearms” for legal purposes. However, authorisation to possess and acquire a free-bullet slaughtering instrument may be granted to proprietors of slaughterhouses, knackermen, deer and wild boar farmers, butchers and farmers, smallholders and crofters who need to slaughter their own animals. Expanding ammunition should also be authorised for this purpose.

So looks like it is legal but don't take my word for it

Have a read of this:

http://www.food.gov.uk/business-industry/guidancenotes/meatregsguid/home-slaughter-livestock/livestockguidance/home-killguide.pdf
sussexforestgarden.blogspot.co.uk

Clansman

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Ayrshire
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2014, 03:27:24 pm »
Cheers Spandit,