Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Any information or experience re sheep keeping small number of sheep please  (Read 9905 times)

Emi

• Joined Oct 2013
Hello
I have three shetland ewes in my field and need lots of advices please as I am a total novice.

Has anyone got a ram with just three ewes?
Does the ram become bored and cause trouble if there are not enough ewes?
We love looking after the sheep so wouldn't mind getting some more but the trouble is we don't consume that many lambs so I need to sell them somehow.

Do you know how to go about selling the meat?

Thank you

mowhaugh

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Scottish Borders
    • Facebook
Hi there.

There is no reason why you can't have a ram with just three ewes. 

Some do get bored once they are done with a smaller number, some don't, so options could be a) get something you really like and hope it is not the former variety b) use a lamb, and replace him each year c) get something with known history d) share with someone else e) get some more ewes  ;D

There are different options for selling your meat, from marketing it yourself (most satisfying but also challenging) to sending to a mart to sending direct to slaughter.

Good luck and have fun with your sheep.

smallflockshearing

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Devon
...or sell store lambs...
Carefully shearing small flocks throughout the South-West.

Fowlman

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Wiltshire
When i started out with my shetlands i had three ewes and a ram and they were just fine. He is now a mature well tempered gentleman.
Tucked away on the downs in wiltshire.

fiestyredhead331

• Joined Sep 2012
  • NW Highlands
    • Facebook
we also have a small flock, even smaller after today at the mart! we have 5 breeding ewes and will buy in a tup for them in 2 weeks, we don't share with the local shepherds as they use cheviots and ours are Boreray crosses so bringing in a boreray/soay cross tup so expecting some interesting lambs next spring  :fc: :fc: