Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Which variety of plum?  (Read 4328 times)

luckylady

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Yorkshire
Which variety of plum?
« on: September 10, 2013, 09:20:02 pm »
Does anyone know which variety of plum this is?  They tend to be a little more yellowy pink than this when ripe but these were harvested a little early from a branch that broke off under the strain of so much fruit.  They are deliciously soft and sweet when ripe.  :thumbsup: 
Doing that swan thing - cool and calm on the surface but paddling like crazy beneath.

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
Re: Which variety of plum?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 01:02:12 am »
Are they not Victoria plums? Maybe a tad more yellow and less red than normal but look like it to me. But then I'm no plum expert.

You could try going through all the varieties on here:

http://www.keepers-nursery.co.uk/stock.aspx?fruittype=2

because they have a photo of each variety with the description. I started going through them but got nothing like yours except Victoria - and then got bored after a few!

H

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 01:49:53 am »
I think they are Victorias too.

I tried to grow Victoria plums here when we first moved in, donkey's years ago.  The trees kept dying and even when they survived they had no fruit.  We planted other types of plum and damsons, golden gages and mirabelles, all of which have grown fine.  The golden gages do particularly well, so I bought a second tree.  This year it had its first crop - which have turned out to be Victoria plums  :o 8) .  The little tree is dripping with them - or it was but we've picked them all now and eaten most of them fresh.  I suppose I was sent the wrong tree, but it's amazing that it grew when I didn't know what it was, whereas all the ones I tried before, which I nurtured so carefully, were a total failure  ::)