Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: scouring piglets  (Read 4917 times)

patmci

• Joined Jun 2009
scouring piglets
« on: June 20, 2009, 02:37:29 pm »
Hi i am new to pig breeding but i have kept pigs for about a year before. I have 2 gloucester old spot sows that are only 1 year old but have had there first litter 2 weeks ago. They both had litters of 6. The first sow lay on 1 and then about a week later 2 died of scour. 1 went very quickly about 2 days it survived before it died. The other piglet lasted nearly a week but i found her dead yesterday. Up until now the other sow has had nothing wrong with her litter but today i have found 4 out of the 6 scouring. The vet gave some antibiotics to the other 2 but they didn't help. Does anybody have any suggestions how to stop the other piglets dieing. I have all the piglets that are left sold so i don't want to dissapoint the people who ordered.

Regards Patrick

rustyme

Re: scouring piglets
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2009, 02:55:22 pm »
hello Patrick,
                I have never tried it with pigs , but see no reason why it wouldn't work for them. I have looked after calves that went down with scours and some pulled through while others didn't even though they were treated by the vets. In the end I fed them comfrey , some ate it wilted others ate it wilted and sliced into very small strips. All those that had the comfrey made it through perfectly fine . The scours stopped within hours of having the comfrey, you can also put it in a liquidizer then strain it , then add the liquid to a 50/50% mix of water and milk ,if they are taking it from a bucket or bottle. This treatment was something an old farmer told me some 30 odd years ago , I have since read the same treatment in Lawrence D Hills book on comfrey. I don't see any reason that it would harm the stock , so worth a try at least ? Hope that helps ...

cheers

Russ

patmci

• Joined Jun 2009
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2009, 04:04:37 pm »
Thanks Russ