Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Vermex  (Read 4550 times)

90driver

• Joined Mar 2013
  • Independent Land Rover Specialst
Vermex
« on: April 11, 2013, 10:40:27 pm »
I Have been treating my chickens with Vermex for a couple of months, but am a little confused about what it actually does. "intestinal hygiene"..... does that mean is worms the birds ? The website dances around the facts with broad statements and pretty meaningless Phrases. Without mentioning parasites etc.

Does anyone know ?

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
Re: Vermex
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2013, 11:18:04 pm »
According to my vet, your scepticism is correct - while it may help improve the general health of the birds, it doesn't deworm or do anything properly medical. So a healthy bird is in a better position to cope with worms but to actually get rid of worms, you need proper meds (Flubenvet or similar).

H

90driver

• Joined Mar 2013
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2013, 11:26:55 pm »
Hester

Thank you ! The power of advertising ! I assumed that it did the same job as flubenvet, But having read it over and over again it really does not tell you what it does !

hughesy

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Anglesey
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2013, 11:06:16 am »
It's a fiddle. It doesn't do anything. It's snake oil. If you need to worm poultry you need Flubenvet which is the only licenced poultry wormer in the UK. Licenced = tested and proven to work.
There's a massive industry that's sprang up to cater for what the poultry keeping public are told they need. Most of it is just plain unnecessary.

taz08

• Joined Oct 2012
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2013, 11:15:49 am »
there are many ways to worm your hens ,, you dont have to use Flubenvet ..
all naturel !!! not every1 likes using drugs,,
i have over 100 hens never been wormed Flubenvet all fit healthy birds :excited:

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2013, 03:57:42 pm »