Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ewe due to lamb soon - advice please  (Read 5245 times)

PPF

• Joined Jul 2012
Ewe due to lamb soon - advice please
« on: March 18, 2013, 04:04:47 pm »
Hello all

Some of you will have read that I'm new to keeping sheep and that I lost a Ewe expecting twins last week.  I have one Ewe left (a Zwartable) and she's a first timer.  The chap I bought her from has looked her over and said she's looking really good.

My worry is that I can pretty much tell when one of my little mares is going to foal, but not much idea with my Ewe.  Will she give me any signs before hand and if so, what sort of signs and rough timeframe.  I'm scared to death that I will miss her trying to give birth and I'm even more worried as it's her first time.

She's supposed to be due on 24-26th of this month, however all the other Ewes that the chap had have already given birth.  She's definately got something there and has bagged up a little.  She has access to ad lib hay and is fed Ewe nuts once per day.  She's in a stable so warm and dry.

Any advice would be great.

ZaktheLad

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Thornbury, Nr Bristol
Re: Ewe due to lamb soon - advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 08:19:12 pm »