Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hatch day question  (Read 3250 times)

aaronsundin

• Joined Jul 2011
  • Aberdeenshire , Scotland
Hatch day question
« on: March 13, 2013, 06:53:29 am »
Morning all ,  I have 5  orpington banties in my incubator . Today is day 21 , one chick hatched during the night and another has pipped , so a little early . I can't see any sign of the other 3 starting just yet  . How long can I leave the hatchling in the incubator before moving to a brooder for feeding ?  I don't want to affect the humidity level , ( I candled all eggs again on day 18 and all looked the same ,well formed .) Many thanks.

Clarebelle

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Orkney
Re: Hatch day question
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 07:19:17 am »
I'm an absolute beginner here but from the research i've done i think the chick can stay in the incubator for 24 hours but after that point it will have absorbed the egg yolk and, therefore, its supply of sustenance. I have read they can be left in there for up to 48 hours but fewer people seem to recommend this long?

graham-j

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Canterbury Kent
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 08:26:47 am »
Hi,48 hours is perfectly fine I usually leave mine up to that,but I believe commercial hatcheries leave them up to 3 days.

Graham.
Graham.

hughesy

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Anglesey
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 12:04:47 pm »
They'll be fine up to 48 hours. I usually remove them once there are a few to keep each other company and they're fluffed up nicely. It's also a good opportunity to take out all the broken shells etc to make a bit of room for the next ones that hatch.

Brijjy

• Joined Sep 2010
  • Mid Wales
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2013, 12:07:30 pm »
I agree with 48 hours. I tend to take chicks out when they are nice and fluffy and when they are hooning around the incy trying to get all their mates to hatch!  ;D