Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Electric fencing for shetland sheep- good/bad?  (Read 7896 times)

minibn

• Joined Jun 2012
Electric fencing for shetland sheep- good/bad?
« on: July 18, 2012, 06:02:20 pm »
Hi

I am hoping to be getting some Shetland sheep within the next few weeks and would like some advice about electric fencing. The field where they will be put first is around 4 acres and has stock proof fencing on three sides, with a four rail post and rail fence and a hedge with lots of large gaps on the other. I have a limited budget when it comes to fencing and was hoping that electric fencing would be suitable until i have the funds to fully fence the rest.

I am new to keeping sheep so i am not sure about there capabilities when it comes to jumping/climbing or running through fences. I currently have a variety of electric fencing and plastic posts as i have horses and this seems to be the only thing they respect. I have both tape and thick cord electric fence which is white in colour so can be seen easily.

Anyone have any advice regarding if this is any good How many strands and at what height should it be?

I will have a couple of rams that will have horns

Any advice greatly welcomed

Thank you

Emily.

Mallows Flock

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Shepton mallet
    • Somerset Pet Sitting and Dog Walking
Re: Electric fencing for shetland sheep- good/bad?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 06:07:41 pm »
I would never personally use electric fencing of any kind with my Shetlands...esp with rams. They do get caught a lot and with that voltage pumping through them it would be hideously painful and upsetting for them til the fencer shorted out. Same reasons as why I won't use haynets etc with Shetlands!
From 3 to 30 and still flocking up!

SteveHants

• Joined Aug 2011
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 07:01:59 pm »