Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Can anyone recommend a good cheese making book?  (Read 7049 times)

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Can anyone recommend a good cheese making book?
« on: May 12, 2012, 09:24:51 am »
It would need to start from scratch as I am a complete novice.

thanks
Sally
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Can anyone recommend a good cheese making book?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 12:09:28 pm »
I love my Rita Ash Self-Sufficiency Cheese-making.  It's a super book for a newbie, not large nor expensive, explains everything really clearly, simple recipes that work and give you confidence to start experimenting. 
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2012, 01:36:04 pm »
Thanks Sally I have just ordered it along with Self Sufficiency, spinning, dyeing and weaving

Sally

Fermette de La Forge

• Joined Aug 2010
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2012, 03:12:32 pm »
Hi,
I like "Home Cheese Making" by Ricki Carroll. It's American so it's all in old money ( Fahrenheit, ounces and gallons) but easily converted - there's probably an 'ap' for that! Very good and clear instructions for a wide range of cheeses and a special section for cheese making with goat's milk.
Cheers,
Julie

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2012, 04:51:32 pm »
Hi,
I like "Home Cheese Making" by Ricki Carroll. It's American so it's all in old money ( Fahrenheit, ounces and gallons) but easily converted - there's probably an 'ap' for that!