Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: cattle  (Read 7409 times)

chris123

• Joined Apr 2009
  • neyland
cattle
« on: April 25, 2009, 03:47:28 pm »
hi to you all completly new to this so please be patient i have rented some land 1 1/2 acre grass field and about a 1/4 acre of a gourse patch this area will need a lot of clearsing but the rent is dirt cheep if i cleared some of it could i keep pigs in there

as for the field can i keep cattle for beef one  or is it better with two how much paper work etc

with thanks
                            chris123
chris123

exmoorlady

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Brendon Hills
Re: cattle
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 08:50:53 am »
Hi Chris
I am no expert but we have just bought 2 dexters. one is in calf and one is a young heifer. Cows should not be kept alone as they are a herding animal and need company of there own kind. They reckon you need one acre  for each cow so you might just get away with a couple of dexters . Cattle have passports that have to be filled in and sent off every time they are moved We also got a herd register sent through which you have to record all details of your cattle and then theres TB testing (but I dont know if thats everywhere or just in the west country) anyway good luck we have only had ours a few days but they are lovely.
Sharon :cow: :cow:
« Last Edit: April 27, 2009, 08:54:35 am by exmoorlady »

chris123

• Joined Apr 2009
  • neyland
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 04:51:54 pm »
thank you any info is welcome
chris123

shetlandpaul

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2009, 04:43:30 pm »