Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Coal or Wood Burning?  (Read 23059 times)

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Coal or Wood Burning?
« on: January 24, 2012, 07:19:52 am »
Hi..we have a coal fire in our cottage at present but are due to renovate, therfore I was wondering what is considered the best source of heat?
I like the coal fire but fear we may be losing most of the heat up the lum, a friend prefers wood burners any day...
Trust me.....I'm a Chef !!

deepinthewoods

Re: Coal or Wood Burning?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2012, 07:37:33 am »
i installed  a woodburner in autumn, in anticipation of a cold winter, it makes so much difference, you lose 80%of the heat up the chimney with a coal fire.
there are sites where you can work out what heat output you need for the size room you have.

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2012, 08:02:20 am »
WOODBURNER! it's so much nicer to deal with and altho I love open fires you will really relish the extra heat and the ease of leaving it lit all safe.

MAK

• Joined Nov 2011
  • Middle ish of France
    • Cadeaux de La forge
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2012, 08:45:56 am »
We put a log burning stove in last March. It runs 8 radiators over 3 floors with some of the circuit going out into the barn and returning into the house upstairs. The pump is behind the stove/wall in our utility room and we have an expansion tank in the loft ( vented to outside).The stove has a thermostat that you can adjust- this controls the flow of  air into the back of the burner. This is OK but if you have no fuel (wood) then despite lots of oxygen it will not heat up.
Essentially - don't expect the instant heat or temperature regulation with wood that you get with gas or oil and keep the stove on all day for the building to soak up the heat. We are very pleased with the system and the heat output is great.