Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hi from Redditch  (Read 5299 times)

MarvinH

• Joined Oct 2011
  • England
Hi from Redditch
« on: October 05, 2011, 09:03:11 am »
Hello Im John and live in Redditch.  For years wanted to keep sheep and now have some land available to me. Approx 3 acres. Lots for me to do before buy any sheep fencing/shelter etc. Have a couple of books inc Tim Tyne's as recommended on here and  Visited livestock auctions.  I have loads of questions that have probably been asked before - (advanced appologies)  but thats a newbie for you. Looking forward to it all.
JU.
Sheep

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Re: Hi from Redditch
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2011, 09:12:50 am »
Hi John - I'm near Evesham  :wave:  often pop into Redditch (mainly The Alex when my mum has a fall  ::)  )
This is a brilliant site for asking loads of questions, I've been asking millions of them for over 2 years now lol.
we keep goats (milk for soap) chickens (sell eggs at farm gate etc) and have a handful of mad lambs that keep the grass down so we can access the orchard where we grow plums for plum wine!
make sure your fencing is secure and learn about what to look for with some of the more common probs (eg. flystrike) and hoof trimming...the rest will come with experience! 
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

Dan

• The Accidental Smallholder
  • Administrator
  • Joined Oct 2007
  • Carnoustie, Angus
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2011, 09:50:31 am »
Hi john, and welcome to the forums.  :wave:

Ask any and all questions, that's what the forums are about. If they've been answered before they will either be answered again or you'll be pointed at a previous answer - we don't mind.  :)

Good luck with your sheep - have you got a breed in mind yet?

Victorian Farmer