Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: castration  (Read 14310 times)

harry

• Joined Mar 2009
castration
« on: September 17, 2011, 03:53:48 pm »
i want to pre order 2/3 kks...i want them castrated at day old.... i know nothing of this so what do i ask the breeder ...ie how its done etc so i know they know what they are doing... are there any problems with day old castration.

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
Re: castration
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2011, 04:42:31 pm »
Ours were done at 5 days old.  They were fine and healed up really well.  If you you tube piglet castration you will see how they do it.  Obviously there are bids on there of the states and other places but there are ones on there of the UK :) Can't see an issue with asking for boars to be castrated before you have them. 

P.s i always say this.  I am a noob at pig keeping and know very little apart from my own experiences  :P

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 04:49:00 pm »
Just wondering why you want them castrated? We've never had KKs - always Tamworths, but we've never had them castrated and they've been fine. I've always just felt it was an unnecessary trauma.

robert waddell

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2011, 05:31:53 pm »
kunies cant be castrated by the cutting method that can be used on other pigs     they have to be done by the vet  there is a very good reason for this happy hippy would explain it
other pigs HAVE to be castrated by 4 days old     day old is far to young to be castrating
you will have to pick up the extra cost of the vet doing the castration
rosemary castrating male piglets lets you run mixed groups without the risk of the gilts getting up the stick