Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pigs,Not keen on Potatoes,but Carrots-Yummy!  (Read 3508 times)

Mel

Pigs,Not keen on Potatoes,but Carrots-Yummy!
« on: September 06, 2011, 08:39:23 pm »
Hello :wave:

I took some more pics of my pigs yesterday,thought I would show them off-I am very proud of them,after all,it is my first time,a friend of mine keeps telling me to feed them potatoes,but they are not very keen on them but when it comes to carrots,they are in absolute heaven! ;D

They are 6 months on the 11th!

Eve

• Joined Jul 2010
Re: Pigs,Not keen on Potatoes,but Carrots-Yummy!
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2011, 09:00:06 pm »
Adorable!  :love: :pig:  They do indeed look very pleased with their carrots! You mention they're your first pigs, so how many do you have? Most people start with 2, but you seem to have quite a few more.  :D

Don't feed them raw potatoes, btw, only cooked ones otherwise they can get very ill. All else can be fed raw.

:wave:
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 09:02:12 pm by Eve »

Mel

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2011, 09:06:40 pm »
I have six,four boars and two gilts. The boys should be ready very soon-so I am told. I do boil the potatoes up on a burner near their feed shed,I do not think it is worth the effort being down there waiting for them to cook if they turn their noses up at them! The carrots win every time :D

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 09:11:37 pm »

Don't feed them raw potatoes, btw, only cooked ones otherwise they can get very ill. All else can be fed raw.

:wave:

Is there a reason why they get ill?  I didn't know that and mine have been fed raw spuds along with any/all other veg i can get my paws on

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2011, 09:46:11 pm »
Lovely piggies, lovely piccies!  Thanks for posting.