Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Price of sheep  (Read 13817 times)

morri2

• Joined Jun 2008
Price of sheep
« on: July 06, 2011, 11:58:56 am »
Hello all!  We have just been offered the chance to rent 70 more acres (yipee!!) at a price (Hmmm!)  We will need to stock the land asap and at the moment we don't have anywhere near enough stock to graze that much land.  Thus we were considering buying some older ewes (cull ewes perhaps), say around 80, to start us off while we build up our other flocks.  Can anyone tell me how much I could expect to pay for a flock of this size and type, and where the best place to purchase might be (ie: local market, other market, private, website etc etc).  Many thanks!  :wave: :wave:

princesspiggy

Re: Price of sheep
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 12:55:00 pm »
im not a sheep expert but cud u not look for stores at market to turn fatten up and turn around quick until u decide what breed u want to focus on? or are stores only sold at autumn time?

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2011, 01:18:34 pm »
MMMMM hope you are sitting down! Sheep are making record prices at the moment so even culls are very expensive! To get an idea of prices in the SW google Greenslade taylors website then look up Sedgemoor livestock centre and open 'market reports' this will tell you what prices everything made at the last umpteen market days.....its very useful as Sedgemoor is a huge centre that handles thousands of sheep and cattle each week. Good Luck!
www.valgrainger.co.uk

Overall winner of the Devon Environmental Business Awards 2009

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2011, 08:12:38 pm »