Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Yearly costs per pig  (Read 16612 times)

Dundonald hens

• Joined Aug 2010
Yearly costs per pig
« on: June 06, 2011, 10:55:59 pm »
As I am new to pig keeping and have only evr had 2 for slaughter could I ask
How much per year per pig
1. Vacination/wormers
2. Feed if on free range rotational ground planted specificaly for pig fodder
3. What would you plant on the above ground
4. The average vet bills for well looked after, well feed, well housed

I was planning on puting the 3 of them in a small plot about 1 acre divided up into smaller areas rotavated and planted out to give them a good feed source for most of the year since i have all the equipment to do this and it seems the cheapest way to feed them ??? and there houses will be handbuilt with traditional stone on the outside,insulated and lined with a washable surface and a dinky slate roof just like minature house,
and before anyone starts babling on about being a skin flint and can I afford vet bills yes I can and do often for all the reast of the beasts we have

HappyHippy

Re: Yearly costs per pig
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 08:39:16 am »
I was planning on puting the 3 of them in a small plot about 1 acre divided up into smaller areas rotavated and planted out to give them a good feed source for most of the year since i have all the equipment to do this and it seems the cheapest way to feed them ???
Whether you're growing for slaughter or keeping pigs to breed with, they all need proper pig food to get the right balance of vitamins, minerals and protien for healthy growth - either a mix of straights (which you will need a licence to mix & feed) or pig nuts/rolls. You can certainly suppliment this with home grown stuff, but it shouldn't replace the basic diet completely, especially in the first year.
Vaccinations/wormers could easily be more than £100 a year - depending on your reigime.