Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: What do you feed?  (Read 2770 times)

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
What do you feed?
« on: March 13, 2011, 04:30:48 pm »
Hello all :) I've been told about "pig mash" but cannot seem to find anything about it :( I.e what it contains, what it is, where i can get it from blah blah.  The piggies i keep and Kune Kune (5 gilts, 1 sow and her 3 babies) crosses so fairly small in size.  How much would you feed these?  What would you feed them?  Mine get a mixture of rolled barley, sugarbeat, veg and fruit and hay ........ and the mother gets some sow and weener pellets as she is feeding 3 piglets.  Am i doing anything wrong?  There is a lot of conflicting info on the net :(
« Last Edit: March 13, 2011, 04:58:16 pm by welshlass181 »

Sylvia

• Joined Aug 2009
Re: What do you feed?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 05:42:45 pm »
I'm no expert but that sounds good enough for me except for the barley. I think it should be fed in moderation and a few pig nuts mixed in. I dare say someone wiser than me will put you right. :pig:

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 06:10:38 pm »
This is why i prefer to ask instead of trawling google as there is lots of conflicting info out there.  I was told that barley and beat would be ok for the gilts and that momma pig would need the extra bits that the nuts provide.  Humph  :'(

robert waddell

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2011, 06:15:20 pm »
barley makes them fat the nuts is a balanced diet they are small so don't feed them the same as conventional pigs
if you are feeding beet remember to thouroughly soak it first

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2011, 06:51:07 pm »
Aye :) i soak it over-night if i use cold water and for a few hours with boiling water.  When the colder weather comes i will try to give them the beat warm ... i know that i'd appreciate it lol

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire