Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Siromer Tractors  (Read 23986 times)

DandG

• Joined Dec 2008
Siromer Tractors
« on: December 10, 2008, 09:29:57 am »
Hi,
As per our welcome post, we are going to be complete newbies at running a 4 acre smallholding, one thing we have realised is that we will need either a full size (may be to big ?) or one of the compact Tractors, Siromer to be precise, I know the Chinese can have a dodgy rep. on some of their products, so we will be keen to here of anyone in particular who runs a Siromer Tractor, the land we will be getting is very hilly in places, so what Horsepower should we be looking at /

Cheers
Denise and Geoff

garden cottage

• Joined Sep 2008
  • forest of dean
Re: Siromer Tractors
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 10:39:07 pm »
hi denise and geoff, we have 1 1/2 acres on slope and 4 acres rented down the lane, depending on the gradient of your slope you shouldnt need anything above 40hp and in compact tractors perhaps less than that. we have a john deere 955 with a front loader and rear digging arm like small jcb which is an excellent machine yanmar diesel easy start very cheap to run. although its on grass tyres if your on any slope 4wd is better, with only 4 acres  have you considered a vintage tractor, you get a lot for your money plenty of restored ones about, my ferguson 35 does everything on our smallholding including work on bank. also loads of implements second hand at sales far cheaper than new prices.have a look on affordable tractors bristol lots of second hand and new on here with plenty of information on them. if you havent had experience of driving on banks with a tractor be very careful, safety cabs or rollover bars are a must many a wise old farmer has been killed by machines rolling on banks.  afraid im not familier with siromer if you go for an import check avail of parts. best of luck ..............neil

Carolinajim

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Eastern North Carolina, USA